Kathleen Elementary School



Nadia Lewis : Principal

Nadia Lewis


Mrs. Lewis was born in Lakenheath, England.  She had a unique childhood as the daughter of a retired Air Force veteran residing in England and Japan during her early childhood.  In 1990 her family returned to the United States where she attended and graduated from Sebring High School in 1999.  She obtained her Bachelor’s Degree in Physical Education K-12 in 2004 from Warner University in Lake Wales, FL.  In 2010, she earned her Master’s degree in Educational Leadership from the University of South Florida.

Mrs. Lewis has spent her entire career in education employed with the Polk County School District.  Her career began as a middle school physical education teacher at McLaughlin Middle School in Lake Wales, FL in 2005.  Next, she transferred to Kathleen Middle School in Lakeland, FL where she spent the next eight years in the following positions: physical education teacher from 2006 - 2008, administrative assistant from 2008 - 2010, assistant principal of administration from 2010 - 2011, and assistant principal of curriculum from 2011 - 2015.  She made her transition to elementary education in 2015 as the Principal of Sandhill Elementary.  In 2017, Mrs. Lewis transferred as a principal to Kathleen Elementary. She brings with her a strong cultural background and firmly believes that all students deserve a quality education.  She is dedicated to the success of her school and is passionate about the academic achievement of every student.

“Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out.” - Robert Collier

Jasmar Bennett : Assistant Principal

Jasmar Bennett

Assistant Principal

Ms. Bennett is a Polk County native. She graduated from Bartow High School in 1998, where she served as class president. She earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Broadcast Journalism at Florida A& M University in 2002.  In 2013, Bennett received her Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership from National Louis University.

Ms. Bennett began her career in education in 2002, as a substitute teacher. She has subbed for grades k-12.  Ironically, while deciding if she was going to take a job as an associate producer for a news station, she decided to answer the call, instead, to become a third grade teacher at Dixieland Elementary.  Ms. Bennett was a classroom teacher for 11 years at Dixieland. She was a part of the staff that helped maintain a school grade of an A for eight years.  She has taught 3rd & 4th grade. In 2014, she went on to be the reading coach at Griffin Elementary. During that year, Griffin increased its grade by one letter grade. In 2015, she began her career as an Assistant Principal. She has served as an Assistant Principal at Lena Vista Elementary and Bartow Elementary Academy. This year, she completed the Principal Internship Academy Program, through the Gulf Coast Partnership at USF.  She is a proud member of the ASBA Board, where she serves as a liaison to support school administrators in Polk County. Ms. Bennett has a love for curriculum and building a solid rapport with students.  Her motto is: Every Student Deserves A Comeback Story!!!


Special Area

Office and Support Staff

Ms. Browning : Principal's Secretary

Ms. Browning

Principal's Secretary

Mr. Dunn : School Safety Guardian

Mr. Dunn

School Safety Guardian

Mrs. Haase : Clinic RN

Mrs. Haase

Clinic RN

Mr. Pollock : Guidance Counselor

Mr. Pollock

Guidance Counselor



Mrs. Emmons : Math/Science Coach

Mrs. Emmons

Math/Science Coach

Mrs. Fain : Speech Teacher

Mrs. Fain

Speech Teacher

Ms. Green : Reading Interventionist

Ms. Green

Reading Interventionist

Mrs. Howell : Literacy Coach

Mrs. Howell

Literacy Coach

Mrs. Jennings : Network Manager-Teacher

Mrs. Jennings

Network Manager-Teacher

Mrs. Martin : Alpha Teacher

Mrs. Martin

Alpha Teacher

Mrs. Randano : Occupational Therapist

Mrs. Randano

Occupational Therapist


ESE Department

Ms. Brady : ESE Inclusion

Ms. Brady

ESE Inclusion

Mrs. Bywalski : ESE Teacher

Mrs. Bywalski

ESE Teacher

Ms. Johnson : ESE Pre-K

Ms. Johnson


Mrs. Murray : ESE Teacher

Mrs. Murray

ESE Teacher

Mr. Waite : LEA

Mr. Waite


Mrs. Black-Yurdin : ESE Inclusion

Mrs. Black-Yurdin

ESE Inclusion




Mrs. Brackley : Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Brackley

Cafeteria Team

Ms. Collins : Cafeteria Manager

Ms. Collins

Cafeteria Manager

Mrs. Keenan : Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Keenan

Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Nelson : Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Nelson

Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Orta Gonzalez : Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Orta Gonzalez

Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Richardson : Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Richardson

Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Thirion : Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Thirion

Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Thompson : Cafeteria Team

Mrs. Thompson

Cafeteria Team


Ms. Brock : Custodial Team

Ms. Brock

Custodial Team

Ms. Hansell : Custodial Team

Ms. Hansell

Custodial Team